I’m taking a step back from the dad-documenting to revisit something I wrote 5 years ago. If you’ve slogged through this blog all the way to the beginning, you might have discovered this effort began as a way to document my move to Cape Cod as what is (somewhat) fondly referred to here as a “washashore.” In it’s own way, the attacks of Sept. 11, 2001, became a motivation for this move. Those events were a jolt to my system and made me rethink priorities – I know I’m not alone in having that reaction. As a result, I know live in this house, in this special place, that has become home to first me and then my father.

I originally wrote this post on Sept. 11, 2006, while watching an amazing 4 hours or so of CNN’s original 9/11 broadcast, which the network was rerunning online.

Here’s the link to that post: Five Years and One Week Ago

